The First Week!

IMG_0146 (2)

Family and friends!

Hello!! I am so grateful that I get to e-mail. I’ve been looking forward to it all week! So much has happened I don’t know where to begin. How about the beginning? My mom, aunt and grandma were able to drop me off at the MTC. We pulled up to the curb and  Hermana Precia Purnell was my host! (She has been my friend since 2nd grade). I was so excited! I knew it was a blessing from the Lord. I was so nervous although I wasn’t trying to show it. Tender mercy for sure. Lots more, let’s keep going.
We went through and got my tag, dropped off my bag at my room and went to my class. My companion’s name is Sister Durfee. She is 24 years old from Southern California. She LOVES Disney and is majoring in ASL. She is an only child and so her extended family means a lot to her. She is awesome! She is very loving and connects well with everyone that we teach. She is also going to Oklahoma City. There are two other sisters in our district and both going to OKC. Sister Cooper is a hoot! She is 19, from Riverton Wyoming. She plays college basketball. She has the gift of rapping and making people feel really good about themselves. Sister Williams is from Cedar Hills, Utah. She is 21, drop dead gorgeous, dances for Utah State and is really good at being focused and funny. We are the only ones in our room. We have so much fun together. I have seriously never laughed so hard in my life. We all have so many jokes and have become best friends even after a week. Our District (67-c) is way awesome too. Elder Pinder is in my district (we were in orchestra together at Eagle). He is hilarious. There are 6 Elders in our district all going to OKC. There are 21 of us going to OKC next Tuesday. We’ve met some of the other Elders going too. Our district is the best. Elder Watkins is our district leader, then we have Elder Martin, Elder Hoddy, Elder Garner, Elder Pinder and Elder Neilson. All of them are either 18 or 19. I don’t know how to describe them other than awesome and funny!

IMG_0134IMG_0139

Our teachers are Brother Gleason and Sister Freeman. They are great and very helpful. The MTC is such a great place. There are tons of missionaries with the same purpose. Sister Durfee and I got to teach in the TRC this week. The TRC is a place where we  get to practice teaching people. They act as someone who doesn’t know about the gospel. Let me tell you, the spirit is so strong there. In the TRC we taught the Restoration and about the Book of Mormon. It’s crazy how fast your testimony grows here on the mission. I know that this church is true! I have really learned how to recognize the spirit out here. During TRC I was teaching about the Book of Mormon then I all of a sudden had a feeling I needed to read 3 Nephi 11. I read the account of Christ visiting the people in America and I then had a feeling to talk about baptism that was later in the chapter, I then had a feeling to talk about the chapter in Matthew about Christ’s baptism. I then realized they both had the same verse saying ” Behold my beloved son, hear him.” The Holy Ghost bore a strong witness to me that if you are open and willing to pray with real intent, meaning when you pray for something that you are willing to do what God tells you to do, that you will be blessed with what to say. Sister Durfee and I did not feel alone. We were able to go to the temple today. The spirit was so strong and confirmed to me that He lives. Jesus Christ lives and loves us. Our Heavenly Father, too, loves us, everything we teach goes back to that truth. He loves us, so He gaves us the Book of Mormon, the priesthood, propehts, families, commandments the list goes on and on. He will help us as we ask. I am so grateful for this experience! The MTC is hard, not going to lie, but worth it. I would love to hear from you all! I don’t have much time to e-mail, so WRITE ME! There is a service called Dearelder.com and you can send letters that are free and get sent to us the same day! Letters are so encouraging and we love them 🙂

I love you all. Have a great week!

Sister Roberts

Leave a Reply

