Heading to OKC!

Family and friends,

Surprise e-mail today! We got to write before we take off tomorrow morning at 6 am! Our flight is around 9:45 tomorrow mornin’ and we are off to OKC. My companion Sister Durfee and I had some amazing experiences teaching this week. We had the TRC 4 times this week. The TRC is where you practice teaching volunteers. One of our “investigators” named Jen (our teacher Sister Freeman) was acting as a lady she actually taught on her mission. Today was our last meeting with her. I felt the spirit so strongly as I testified of the Doctrine of Christ (Faith, repentance, baptism, holy ghost, and enduring to the end). Our other comps, Sister Coop (Cooper) and Williams had an amazing experience in particular. They walked in the room and the lady immediately admitted she wasn’t a member in real life. She said it was a favor for her friend. They started teaching her about the Restoration of the church and of Joseph Smith. She stopped them, a little uneasy the Sisters listened. The lady asked them “Just tell me why you are here.” They both bore their testimonies of the gospel. Tears streamed down the lady’s face as they invited her to read The Book of Mormon. “I WILL read it, I promise you, I WILL,” she said. That experience strengthened my testimony of the spirit’s role in conversion. We just cannot teach without it. I had an experience this week–of course meant to be– where I wasn’t feeling the spirit during a lesson. There was a lot of noise and distractions around because we were in the hall. I honestly couldn’t hardly speak. I turned to Sister Durfee in shock. I am the senior companion and so usually I start, but words just weren’t coming to my mouth. It taught me a lesson and I knew then, that I needed the spirit more than anything when I teach. We have started to read the Book of Mormon in depth as well and it is SO GOOD! I get so zoned in.

I am trying to tell funny stories in my e-mail from the week. I have many funny experiences but one that sticks out actually happened today. So somebody in our District (my comp)  loves to sing, but tends to jump from one key to another when we sing. For our opening song this afternoon we decided we wanted to sing Come Come Ye Saints acapella. We started and it was just off from the start. Everyone started on a different note and it just did not sound pretty. Our DL Elder Watkins was leading and just started laughing because everyone was so off. Everyone started dying out until it was just me and my comp singing two different notes! Our teacher was cracking up at this point. “We sounded like dying cow” one Elder said. Everyone was crying laughing.

We are so excited and anxious start this journey. It’s so weird leaving the MTC. Our District has grown so close. I love them all, they are like family! It feels like yesterday since I got here, yet I feel so different and “old”. I have learned SO much and grown a lot. My testimony and appreciation for this gospel has increased so much. The countless classes, devotionals, and testimonies shared have all added to my faith, knowledge and testimony. I can’t, in words, begin to describe how strong my testimony has been strengthened. It’s a pure feeling of joy and peace to be a missionary. Being a missionary is hard, but so rewarding. You are so in-tune with the Holy Ghost that you become so reliant on its guidance and council. I know this may be bold, but I feel so strongly that everyone should consider this opportunity to become a full time missionary and servant to the Lord. It has seriously enriched my life, even in the two weeks I’ve been here. My testimony has been strengthened of my Savior, of our Heavenly Father’s love for all of us, of Joseph Smith, and of our purpose here on this earth. During our Sunday night devotional Steven B. Allen spoke and had us all sing with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir recording to “Come, Come Ye Saints”. They sang it in the last conference. It was so powerful to sing “and how we’ll have this tale to tell, all is well, all is well!” All IS well my dear family and friends, All is WELL!

I love you all! My challenge for the week comes from personal study. Read the section in Jesus the Christ on the Savior’s suffering in Gethsemane. It is so powerful and has really put in perspective what the Savior did for each of us. We are eternally indebted to Him and our Heavenly Father. Have a great week!

Love y’all,

Sister Roberts

P.S. I will update everyone more on the tornado disaster next week. Apparently we’ll be picking up yellow vests when we arrive… more to follow!

IMG_0202     IMG_0232                   IMG_0221

Leave a Reply

