Transfers, Fireworks and Peace

Family and Friends,

Happy 4th last week! This week was great! We met President Walkenhorst this week! HE IS 7 FEET TALL! Funny story. We had a Zone Conference where he introduced himself and such. I was playing the piano for the meeting and he ended the meeting, so I started to walk up to the piano but he started talking again. He told me to still go up to get started, so I, not clearly thinking… haha, ducked when I walked passed the podium just as a courtesy. He loudly exclaimed, “Sister Roberts, you don’t have to duck!” Everyone burst out laughing! hahahaha It was so funny. I was laughing pretty hard too. He is really awesome. He focused on how we will never be perfect, but if we are striving to be, we will be blessed and will see many miracles.

Alma 37:40 says, “And it did work for them according to their faith in God; therefore if they had faith to believe that God could cause that those spindles should point the way they should go, behold, it was done; therefore they had this MIRACLE, and also many other MIRACLES wrought by he power of God, day by day.”

Sister Walkenhorst told me she met Aunt Lisa and Uncle Matt! I was so excited! President Walkenhorst is so funny; he is so proud that he knows all our first names AND where we are from. Sister Walkenhorst kept saying, “You don’t need to know their first names haha!” President Walkenhorst is a great speaker and I know he is inspired and directed by the Lord. The biggest news of the week is that TRANSFER calls came… drum roll… I am staying in Norman and taking over the area! Sister Carlini is going home and Sister Zaleski is getting transfered to Stillwater! I am getting a new companion, Sister Main, and she is training a brand new missionary here! I am excited to be getting 2 new companions! I feel so humbled that Heavenly Father trusts me to take over the area and be responsible for the people here. The mission has definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone, but has also helped me realize what I am capable of. Missions are such a blessing because you give all your will to Heavenly Father and he sends you where you need to go.

ImageZhaotong at church!

Flora is progressing very well! She is so strong and amazing. We are still teaching her in French. She came to church this Sunday and it was amazing. I don’t know if I already said this, but she is getting baptized August 10th! The work is moving so fast here and I feel so blessed to be able to work as an instrument for the Lord. It really isn’t us… it’s the Spirit! We got to stay out a little later than usual to watch fireworks. We watched them with two members from the ward and the Elders. It was so great! ImageImageHAPPY 4th!

Last night, we had a lesson with an investigator who has been taking the discussions for a long time, but we hadn’t seen her in a while because of some of her concerns. We talked with her about peace. I had her read out loud the words of “Where Can I Turn For Peace.” I love this song. It starts out asking, really, where can I turn for peace. Then, the last verse comforts, like the Lord always does after we ask. It says: “In my Gethsemane, Savior and friend, constant he is and kind, love without end.” We all experience our own Gethsemane, but we don’t have to live in it. As we give our burdens to the Savior and follow in His footsteps, He will send us the comforter, the Holy Ghost. As Elder Cook said, “The Savior is the source of true peace. Even with the trials of life, because of the Savior’s Atonement and His grace, righteous living will be rewarded with personal peace.” I have learned so vividly on this mission that the GOSPEL is the only source of true peace. I love y’all and am so grateful for your support and love.

Love always,

Sister Kenz (Roberts)

ImageDistrict “early morning” soccer

Leave a Reply

