The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Loved To Do!

Family and Friends,

This week was great! I have hit my 3 month mark! I can’t believe it! It has been very warm here–114 and humid one day! Wheew! On a bright note, we have a baptism this week, so pray hard for Flora! She is so excited. We went over this week and went over the baptismal interview questions, and she said she was so excited for her baptism that she had a dream about it! AH! We even got some French pamphlets for her on the Restoration, PofS, etc.

A little more news from the week: School starts on the 19th, so this college town has been a little dead this week with the summer semester kids even on break. But next week is when everyone will be starting to move in! We have two new investigators, Aaron and Biggs. They know their Bible veeerrry welll! Crazy story how we ran into them. We were looking for a member in the ward and, come to find out, the member had moved and living there instead was a guy named Aaron! He invited us back and said he had a friend who wanted to join us. Biggs (the friend) even has a Book of Mormon, D&C and Pearl of Great Price that he got in Kuwait. He came to the Book of Mormon study class and to church this week. He seems pretty interested! We had a solid Restoration lesson with them last week. The spirit took over, and it was amazing. He had really good questions and had an interest in the Priesthood. ImageThe Sisters with some girls from the Student Ward!

This week, we took two girls from the ward, Arrie and Heather, out on splits. Heather and I went together and ran into an older African-American man. We started telling him about the Book of Mormon, and he kept saying how bright and happy we looked. He asked, “How is it possible that you are this happy?” We explained to him that having the knowledge of a loving, personal Heavenly Father and the restored Gospel brings us joy! He was so cute and kept commenting on how “bright” we were. haha We got his number to refer him to the Elders. At the end of our conversation, he shook our hands and kissed them. I was like…. umm…. oh well! 🙂

We had quite the breakthrough with Eathen this week. I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but we found him when he showed up to FHE one night a couple weeks ago. I talked to him and asked if we could meet with him. He agreed. He just retired from the Air Force, knows 5 languages, is very smart, fences, fights, etc. Just a tough guy all around! haha! We weren’t having much success with him because he was basically just bashing us. BUT, Friday night he opened up so much and told us more about his life. He just needed someone to listen to him and care. In that moment, I felt so much peace and, despite the crazy life he has had and the stories he told, I felt Heavenly Father’s love for him! I know Heavenly Father loves each of us and wants us so badly to love Him back and follow our Savior Jesus Christ. The title of my e-mail is from a song on the CD by the Nashville Tribute Band called “The Work.” This really is the hardest thing I’ve ever loved to do and I am so grateful I can be here! I LOVE my Oklahoma!

TRANSFERS are next week and everyone thinks I will be leaving. haha! We shall see. Sister Zaleski (my last comp) is training! Next week, I will officially no longer be in training! Yay!

I love this work! The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is true! It changes lives and it has changed mine!

Love, Sister Roberts

ImageThe pic is of us with the soon-to-be Sister Tara Willie! She received her mission call to the Macon Georgia Mission leaving in November! She is solid and will do amazing!

One thought on “The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Loved To Do!

  1. Sister Roberts,
    The thing that really attracted my mom to the Sister Missionaries in 1978 was their bright shiny faces. She thought that they must have scrubbed their faces for hours every day because they just glowed.

    Im so excited for you.

    Gretchen

Leave a Reply

