“Twi” Miracles

Image

Hey Hey!

How’s it going? This week was AWESOME! My heart is as full as can be and I know this is the Lord’s work. We saw so many miracles this week! First off, Doug. Doug was baptized on Saturday with a support group that filled the little Midwest City chapel. The whole branch came and more! The spirit was so strong as Bonnie teary eyed watched her fiance be baptized. He was so giddy! He was so prepared that he bought white pants like 6 months ago. His non-member mom came too and that was a neat experience. It was great because the Tuesday before his baptism we went out to dinner with Doug and Bonnie (I always tease and mix up their name “Boug and Donnie” haha) at a restaurant called Go Go Sushi. On the way there Sister Swensen remembered one of our young potentials, Evan, works there so she thought he might be there. When we got there he was there, but when we had tracted into him it was kinda dark so we didn’t know what he looked like for sure. Sister Swensen pointed him out to me and I looked over and we agreed that was him. He saw us looking and so he came over and asked if we were the ones that had prayed with him last week and made a joke about how one of his co-workers had said “Hey dude, I think that chick in the blue is checking you out.” #embarrassing Oh the life of a missionary. After dinner, we had a really good lesson with Doug and Bonnie about enduring to the end. My favorite topic!

We had a good lesson with Kristena also. Sister Anderson (my old comp) went home this week 😦 I will miss her, but I know she has a work to do and I loved seeing her before she left. Sister Anderson went to the lesson with us. Spencer was also there and we taught the Word of wisdom and follow the prophet. She accepted it all. She is really excited for her baptism next week!

Allswell’s lesson…OH MAN! It was so cool. Brother McArthur came with us, and since they are both from Ghana, they spoke in the “Twi” (pronounced “chi”) language. He cleared up SO MUCH that she was confused about due to the language barrier. Apparently in Ghana “Mormon” and “mammon” sound similar, so many people shy away from the church because of that misunderstanding! We couldn’t figure out why she wasn’t reading consistently. She also asked him about baptisms for the dead, how he as a Ghanaian likes being a member of the Church, etc. It was a miracle. She came to church, too!

My prayer has definitely been answered being able to influence and work with people and families with special needs. We went to visit Sister Baker and she just went on and on about how if we hadn’t come into her life she would have walked away from the church (due to getting offended at church because of her kids with special needs). She said we have changed her life. We are looking forward to going back this week with the Relief Society President to help make a plan to get her comfortable coming back to church and to help her kids into it. Both of her kids have Autism. Also, I think I mentioned Dustin, the Randall’s grandson, last week. Well, at church Brother Randall found out that I have a brother with special needs and he came up to me really excitedly and told me that I need to talk to his less active wife and come visit them and meet him. I don’t think he knew we had already met him! I am SO excited. Also, Sister Williams came to church again for the 3rd week in a row. She is the woman with the severely Autistic son. Having Michael in my life has been such a blessing, helping me connect with the sisters in the Moore 1st Ward. I didn’t know why I needed to come here originally, but Heavenly Father has blessed me with so many opportunities to serve others with talents and skills I’ve grown up with.

I am so grateful for the Gospel of Jesus Christ! I feel so privileged to be His missionary. Transfers are next week and I have no idea what will happen, but I know without a doubt that His hand is in all. “I’ll go where you want me to go dear Lord” has had a profound impact on me during the past 9 months. Almost a year ago, I opened my mission call to the Oklahoma Oklahoma City Mission. I was so confused why I was going to Oklahoma. I mean, does anyone live in Oklahoma!? (I thought back then). Yes, many people do…many people prepared for the gospel. People who have changed my life for good. People I hope I have influenced and who will be my friends for life! I know without a doubt that if you go where the Lord wants you to go and say what He would want you to say and be what He wants you to be, you will be changed and you will have a greater sense of peace.

“I promise you, as you pray to know with whom to speak, names and faces will come into your mind. Words to speak will be given in the very moment you need them. Opportunities will open to you. Faith will overcome doubt and the Lord will bless you with your very own miracles.” -Elder Neil L. Andersen

I love y’all! Keep enduring and moving forward!

Love, Sister Roberts

Leave a Reply

