Where’s Lawton?

Image

Hello!

Well this was quite a week. Tons happened, but I’m going to start with transfer calls yesterday. We got snowed in, so we walked to an appointment. During the middle of the lesson, President Walkenhorst called. At that moment, I knew I was toast. After the lesson, we called him back and he wanted to talk to me. “Sister Roberts, you’re leaving.” (He pulled the band-aid off fast). “You are going to Lawton to be a Sister Trainer Leader with Sister Smith. I was seriously in shock. I’m leaving Moore? No “Moore” miracles! Haha okay, that’s dramatic. There will still be miracles, but I just can’t use that pun anymore. Sad haha. I feel honored to be an STL. STLs are sort of like Zone leaders for the Sisters. It’s the sister leadership position. Anyways, I feel super inadequate, but I will learn! I feel the Lord will help me through it all! But I got to mess with people all day, like my District Leader Elder Collins. When he called with transfer info, I just said, “Wait wait, let me guess…” He was like, “WHAT! How do you know already!?” It was pretty funny.

The work this week was great! We started teaching a woman named Kelly who is SOLID! We spent a lot of the snow day with her. She is really prepared, so we’re excited. We also have been preparing Kristena for her baptism on Wednesday. We had an exchange with the STLs on Friday, and had a pretty hilarious lunch. Sister Guy, an older lady, looooves Elder Henderson and took all these pictures of him to put on her wall. It was so funny. We also had another good lesson with Allswell. She is coming to church every week, but to the ward before ours, because she has to work at 12. We are praying with her that her hours will change or something can happen. After transfer calls, Sister Swensen and I got priesthood blessings from the Zone Leaders. It was crazy because we both had a prompting to ask for them. I didn’t tell Elder Peterson that I was going to be an STL. He asked if there was anything he should know, and I just told him to follow the spirit, but it was so perfect. Everything that was said, I need as a reminder and to hear. It was the coolest experience and reaffirmed my testimony of the priesthood. Although I am sad to leave Moore, I feel at peace with it, and know that Sister Swensen is going to rock it here in Moore.

I feel like and know Heavenly Father knows me so well and he keeps challenging me with things that in the end help me grow. One thing that has always remained constant is His unfailing love and support. I’ve noticed over the past 9 months that He pushes me ever so slightly out of my comfort zone, not more than I can handle, but just enough to make me drop to my knees and pour out my heart. Then He reminds me of His love and helps me stand up and get back to work. I am so grateful for this opportunity to serve this mission. I know I say that every week, but I get more passionate about it the longer I go, so I say it with more energy every week. I love the Gospel. I am honored to be an stl and to be able to help other sisters through their growing pains, and I know they’ll teach me a lot too.

Love y’all,

Sister Roberts

P.S. Also, important info for sending letters/packages to the mission office in OKC: I won’t get them for about a month or so. So… my new address to send everything to is:

Sister Mackenzie Roberts

1308 SW D Avenue, Apt. 4

Lawton, OK 73501

Leave a Reply

