I Love My Familia!

MAY 27, 2014

ImageReady to “White Board Lawton” last week!

Family! Friends! 

How is everyone this fine day? The library was closed yesterday so we get to e-mail today! I am so grateful! We both missed it so much. First, I just want to say how grateful I am for my family today! Dad, you are so amazing. You have taught me responsibility, respect, hard work and dedication through your example! You are always supportive of my decisions and I really value your opinion and advice. Mom, you are also amazing! I love your advice and all the times you just listen to me when I need to talk. You have taught me love, to trust in the Lord, and patience. You are also supportive of my decisions and I can count on you always! You are a great friend! Madeleine, you are so great! You are so forgiving and accepting of others. You are so talented! I know we’re going to have some good sister dates after the mission! I’ll need some good hair tips, too…this humidity is not my friend haha. Jordan, I hear only the best from my family and know you’re very hardworking and fun! It’ll be great to have you in the fam! Michael, your picture is on the back of my planner right now, and I talk about you in so many of my lessons! I am so happy you are in our family and that you chose to grace our family with your special spirit! I smile every time I think of you! Max, you are such a great guy! You are such a great example to me and I always think “Max will be so good at the mission” every day. You are so talented at everything you do AND have a strong testimony. Great combo! I love you all! Grandparents, Aunts, Uncles, Cousins–I love y’all too! I have the greatest family in the world! 

This week was good! All of our investigators were out of town, sick or had deaths in the family. We did a lot of service for them. The Ponce’s grandma died, so we took them treats and a card. We are going to clean their bathroom tomorrow (haha!). We did get to meet with Brother Bentley. We were talking about the ten commandments and he started jumping into fasting and tithing haha. He is excited to be baptized. He has so many questions so that’s good too, but he is very open to everything. He’s still going strong with his seminary study guide. 🙂 We did an exchange with Sister Stokes and Sister Taylor in the other Lawton ward. I went with Sister Stokes to their area. We had an appointment where this kid put like 5 kittens on me. Needless to say, my eyes blew up and we definitely had to go to Walgreens for Benedryl. The pollen in the air didn’t help either. BUT, the lesson went well and the woman really wanted a Book of Mormon. We also got to teach two of their investigators that are getting baptized in a week–Kayla and Cindy! They are awesome. It was a good exchange! On Post this Sunday, I taught a lesson on the Restoration. Teaching was just me and one other solider who is the co-teacher. His name is Brother Ness. But I pretty much just direct and teach the class. About 20 soldiers were in the class, and about half of them were investigators. It was really fun though and they asked really good questions. There are so many people with so many backgrounds though, so that is pretty crazy. We do have a little time to talk to them individually though after the class. Sunday was very overwhelming because after our classes on Post, the four of us missionaries had to rush back to make at least part of our regular sacrament meeting. I think I mentioned it before, but we do a little exchange each Sunday, so it’s Sister Stokes and I, and Elder Manwaring and Chavez…an Elder and a Sister from both the wards. Our other companions go on splits so there is always at least one missionary there in our assigned wards. President approved it, so don’t worry, 😉 but it seems kind of weird at first. I probably didn’t explain it very well, so sorry! Anyways, so Elder Chavez and I ran right onto the stand to join our comps to give talks Sunday after Post. There were two confirmations which was awesome, but we got there right in time to give the talks. Our comps gave pretty long talks, so we just got to share our testimonies. I loved it though! I realized that I am not nervous anymore to speak in front of people. I mean, everyone is a little nervous when they’ve prepared something, but I used to be a lot more nervous! YAY! Missions are amazing! We have a busy week ahead: two exchanges, Stake Conference, and some good lessons! It’ll be a great week! 

I love this Gospel so much! I love the Book of Mormon. I am finishing the Book of Mormon tomorrow (two chapters to go!), and I am just in awe again at how much I get out of it! I love it so much that I want to share it with everyone! It provides answers to life’s greatest questions. Even though I just finished it, I’m going to start over again and read it again and again! I have a testimony that The Book of Mormon is the word of God! I am grateful for the Atonement and how powerful it is. I know it works. Ether 12:27 and 37 really hit me this week too. I love my Savior so much! 

Video of the Week:

https://www.lds.org/pages/a-book-of-mormon-story-mormon-message?lang=eng

Have a great week! Pray that we dodge the tornadoes 😉 

Love, 

Sister Kenz

Leave a Reply

