Two Firsts

MARCH 24, 2014

ImageOur District!

Hey family and friends!

So this week wasn’t too exciting but there were still some miracles. I experienced two firsts on the mission: mountains and sickness. I got suuper sick this week, like the sickest I’ve ever been…throwing up and such. The Elders came and gave me a priesthood blessing and it was so good! I was really out of it, but it gave me a lot of strength. The blessing also told me things that I needed to hear spiritually. Everyone was so nice bringing me crackers, Sprite and everything I needed. I slept a ton and I’m still recovering, but feel a ton better! During this sickness I was able to read a lot of talks and articles from the Ensign and from the scriptures. There was one article from the Ensign titled, “The Best is Yet to Be” by Elder Holland, and he said something that stuck out to me: “It is not right to go back and open some ancient wound that the Son of God himself died to heal.” He was talking about forgiving yourself and others. I was thinking about that being sick. I also read a talk by Elder Nelson about the body and how miraculous it is–how the body heals itself and protects us, through our mortal life and how we’ve been blessed with modern medicine. I was thinking about how we need to be both physically and spiritually healthy. We have a body that heals and repairs itself, and if we take care of it, it will bring us great joy and strength. We also have a spirit that needs to be fed, too. We feed it by daily study of the scriptures, communication with the Father and church attendance where we can worship God and help to uplift others! When we neglect or die spiritually though, we need the Savior to heal us. We cannot do it alone. I realized that even through this physical sickness I needed the Savior to help lift me up. I was filled with the Spirit as I realized and felt His strength. Alma 7: 11-12 meant a lot more to me:

“And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people. And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.”

I am so grateful to my Savior for all he has done! He has overcome the world and made it possible for each of us to return to live with Heavenly Father! That is why I am here, to tell the world (Oklahoma) that He lives!

I love y’all soooo much! Have a great week!!

Love, Sister Roberts

P.S., The pics are from last p-day. We climbed Mt. Scott–the only “mountain” in Oklahoma. My ears were exploding because they didn’t remember what elevation was. haha

ImageSister Stokes & I on the cliffsImage

Leave a Reply

