How Sweet Is The Work!

JUNE 23, 2014

Hey y’all! 

What a crazy week! To answer some of your questions, Mom, about us moving… the apartment we were in is really old, prob has mold (we were feeling sick a lot and getting headaches a ton), is in a sketchy part of town and has been a missionary apartment for about 10 years. So, it was time to make a change! One of the members in our ward has a rental house she was really wanting missionaries to move into, so we said, “Sure thing!” It’s an old house, but nice and clean. It’s really cute and we’re going to rock it! I will send pictures next week! Like I said, the address is 17 NW 28th St. Lawton, OK 73501. Oh and mom… thanks for the card, it was great and MADE my day! Congrats to Max and his track stuff! I’m so proud 🙂 Sounds like a wonderful trip yall are on in Israel! I am so jealous, like Lauren said, too, I feel that I have a greater appreciation and knowledge of the New Testament and Christ’s life.. so take tons of pictures! 🙂 I’m looking forward to hearing all about it! Kara Smack got home from her mission in CA this week, by the way…I can’t believe how fast time is going! One of the soldiers asked how long I have left on the mission and I had to say only about 4 months…. AH! It’s crazy, but I’m so so so grateful for the experience I’ve been having! It’s changed my life! I wish I could put into words how I feel about the growth I’ve seen in myself and others, but I can’t perfectly! It’s truly a miracle. 

On to the week…On Monday, we did the P-day routine and played games at the church with the District. Monday night was full of miracles. The Tomany’s (the Ft. Sill senior couple) came teaching with us and everything was falling through. We were getting a little worried because Elder Tomany is a hard military guy and gets impatient fast. 🙂 Sister Porter thought of visiting David and Bria. We were both a little hesitant, because the Tomanys are so much older than they are, but we decided to trust the Spirit. We called David, and he said we could come over. He told us that it was perfect because he was having a rough night because his mom had just been diagnosed with breast cancer. We went over there and it was miraculous. He and Elder Tomany clicked like no other! We started off watching a couple Mormon messages about trials, and when we got to the one by Elder Holland called “Good Things To Come” David was tearing up (and David doesn’t cry, like ever!). He opened up a lot about how he feels like he has a lot of baggage and that he doesn’t deserve the Atonement. Elder Tomany nearly jumped on him saying, “No, that is not true!” He asked David some inspired questions about his life and the conversation was so Spirit-guided. We were able to explain that the Atonement is for everyone even if you don’t want it. But when we do use it, it is “sweet above all that is sweet.” By the end of our visit, David’s face was brighter, and he and Elder Tomany were best friends. Elder Tomany even gave him his card and told him, “You call me anytime you feel down again!” It was a miracle. The night didn’t end there. The Tomanys insisted on taking us to Braums for shakes. The lady who was checking us out had a Spanish accent, so I nudged Sister Porter to talk with her, and she did and got an appointment set up to teach her in Spanish. MIRACLES! 

Tuesday was Zone Conference. It was all about developing relationships with members. It was really, really good, and Sister Porter and I received a lot of revelation for our area. Sister Porter also gave her departing testimony! She only has one MONTH left! She did well. I realized that at the next Zone Conference I would be up there giving mine. Time flies when you’re preaching the Gospel! After Zone Conf, I went to Texas on exchanges with Hermana Best. We taught a lesson to a lesbian couple on the Law of Chastity. Yeah… that was a first! They have 6 children from previous relationships/family. We read The Family: A Proclamation to the World. It was really interesting. The Spirit was there, and I felt Heavenly Father’s love for all of them. I was sad though that they don’t want to change right now. 

Wednesday (still in TX), we helped a woman move out of her apt. It was really gross. She use to be addicted to Meth, so her house smelled bad and it was really cluttered and hoarded. Afterwards, we went to visit one of their recent converts named Keith who is paralyzed from the waist down. When we got there an ambulance was on its way because his huge wheelchair had fallen on him and all the bones in his legs were broken. It was so sad. He is a neat guy though! I’ve visited him on exchanges before. He is really faithful. It took 3 or 4 Elders holding him to baptize him because of his disability. We then went to visit a sweet lady named Sally. She lives in a really wealthy part of Wichita Falls. That lesson went really well. She is really open! After a very eventful 24 hours, we re-exchanged and went back to Lawton. 

Thursday was full of a lot of planning. We met with the Zone Leaders to plan our Specialized Training Meeting. Sis Porter and I will be giving training on setting goals as a missionary! We also had a RS Activity that evening. Carla Molster (recent convert) came and LOVED it! It was a Pinterest night and she is so crafty! 

On Friday, we moved a lot of things over to our house between appointments! Moving is so tiring! Saturday was spent moving, too! We are excited to have it all over! 

Sunday was miraculous! We went to Post and I taught the Restoration (1st lesson) and we set 5 baptismal dates! Two of them are really solid. One of them came up to me and told me that he’d already read 10 chapters of 1 Nephi. He said he knows it’s true. I asked if he had a baptismal date and he said no. I asked him if he would like to be baptized, and he lit up and said, “Yes ma’am!” “How about July 13th?” I asked. “That sounds great!” he answered. He was so excited! He explained that his dad is a preacher, but he always felt that there was something missing and he was always drawn to the Mormon church but never went. He said when he walked into the church for the first time, he knew it was true. He was home. #prepared It was really touching. Another Sister, Sister Wann said she really liked what she heard. It was great! I am SO EXCITED! Ft. Sill is the greatest! Our ward, the Lawton 1st ward, will also be doing a 40-day fast for missionary work in the ward. One family will take a day and fast, and we’ll do that for 40 days. Then we’re ending it with a fireside. It’s going to be great!! The work is hastening!! This is huge, because it’s been like pulling teeth to talk about missionary work in this ward and they’re catching the wave now 🙂 MIRACLES! 

I love this work. I am so grateful for the Atonement of Jesus Christ. It’s miraculous, beautiful and sweet above all that is sweet. The feelings of love, hope and peace that come from the Atonement are indescribable, but each of us can feel it! And, like in Lehi’s vision, after we have tasted of the fruit we should share it and help others come to it! In Preach My Gospel it says, “As your understanding of the Atonement of Jesus Christ grows, your desire to share the gospel will increase. You will feel, as Lehi did, the “great … importance to make these things known unto the inhabitants of the earth” (2 Nephi 2:8). It’s true, and I am grateful for the blessings and miracles the Lord has allowed me to witness and be a part of. 

I love y’all! 

Sister Kenz

Leave a Reply

