Peace Be “Still”

SEPTEMBER 2, 2014

Family,

I am SO HAPPY everything went so well with the wedding! Congratulations to Mr. & Mrs. Nickel! I love you both so much! I’m glad I got to be a part of it through video! 🙂 It was quite the day…emotional, but very spiritual as well. I am grateful for Christ’s Atonement, and I really felt that day that He knew how I was feeling. It gave me so much hope and peace. 

This week was definitely one of answered prayers. Tuesday we went to a lesson at Becky’s, and after the lesson her car wouldn’t start. Sister Hirschi and I decided to pray for her and when we did that it started. BAM! It was crazy. She said that was so unusual, but the best part is that she gave the credit to God. It built her testimony of prayer! #answeredprayers On Friday, we got to go to the temple. Not enough ward members had signed up to clean the temple, so they asked if the missionaries could come help, so we did, and we also got to do a session. It was the day of the wedding, so I sat in the Celestial room pondering about the love I have for my family and how much Heavenly Father knows what is best. It was confirmed to me there, that this was the right thing and that there are still people in Oklahoma that need me these next two months. 

So… I am actually leaving Lawton tomorrow, for STILLWATER! I am SO excited! I get to be the North STL with Sister Morrell (Kenna’s cousin-in-law). I am really looking forward to working with her. This is her last transfer so that will be fun, too! We cover 7 different companionships, so we’ll stay busy! Sister Law is actually coming to Lawton with Sister Hirschi, so that’s exciting too!  And yes, 11 weeks to go for the mission… I cant believe it! No, the general authority hasn’t come yet… this is how it’s going… this week we have Mission Leader Conference and transfers; next Monday is our mission tour with Elder Foster (so I’ll e-mail Tuesday again); then the next Thursday is Zone Conference (where I will be giving a departing testimony). The week after that is the General Women’s Meeting, then the next week is General Conference (another date that is making me “old”…haha). After that is MLC and transfers again (Sister Borup coming!!!), then my last transfer with Halloween, MLC and lots and lots of sister exchanges!!! Crazy huh!? I’m gonna be booked until the end… literally! It’s all exciting and I’m glad I still have another area. I’m excited to see what adventures await in this next area, since I felt that I needed to stay here… bring it on Spirit! I’m realizing here on my mission that time is running out and I’m wanting to run faster and work harder every day that goes by. I have more I want to improve in myself and develop. 

I needed this mission experience so badly. I look at myself and how I was before my mission. I am SO grateful that Heavenly Father knows us perfectly and I listened to the call, maybe even if I didn’t the first time. 😉 But I’m glad I did! I feel more capable and confident. I feel more confident in the Lord and in my testimony of the restored gospel. I know it’s true now more than ever. I know how to apply it, I know how it can bless my life and how it already has. I read through my patriarchal blessing recently and I smiled at how I “didn’t think it said anything about a mission”, because now I see that everything was talking about my mission. How could I be so blind? I am glad my eyes were opened and that I could have this experience. I’m glad I served in Lawton, Oklahoma. A piece of my heart will always be here with these people and the sisters in the south part of the mission. I have grown and been shaped so much here. I feel like Lawton was my “refiner’s fire”. It helped my teaching bloom through teaching the soldiers on Post, it helped me see what this quote by Elder Bednar meant: “You are called because of what you will become.” It helped me to learn to love people, to TRUST IN THE LORD, to love my companions more than ever, to be a leader, to understand my purpose as a missionary more than ever. It has truly shaped my mission and life. Thank you family and friends for all your love, support, prayers, and messages! I have the best family in the world!!

Love as always, 

Sister Roberts

Leave a Reply

