Life in Stilly!

Stillwater Zone

Family! Friends! 

Stillwater is SO DIFFERENT than Lawton. More green, more safe, a college town, more Sisters and lots to do. I love it! It’s a busy place and takes me back to Provo and Norman a little bit. I’m glad I’ll be spending my last weeks here. I’m with Sister Grace Morrell now. Sister Morrell is crazy fun, easy going, and powerful! She is from Idaho Falls, and went to BYU-I. She goes home at the end of this transfer, so we occasionally chat, worry and ponder on the craziness of being an “old” missionary and going home, but not too much, don’t worry. 🙂 It’s nice to have someone to talk to about it, when it’s so close. She definitely understands. Her brother also married the Mackay’s daughter (my piano teacher in Eagle), and she is Kenna’s cousin-in-law. So…. really small world. Everyone calls us old now and I’m realizing more and more how long I have been out here…this is the best part of the mission though because you know how to be a missionary and it’s normal life now. Our District consists of 4 sets of sisters and 2 sets of Elders. It’s fun. We live with the Spanish Sisters: Hermana Anderson and Pagliaro… I love them! We have so much fun together, and we live in a sweet house! 

My new area is going well… I’m a little overwhelmed because I have to take over the area in a couple weeks, but I am TRUSTING the Lord will help me! We have some cool investigators though so that is fun! One woman named Carla is getting baptized in a couple weeks. She is in her 50s and her husband is a member. She is really sincere and has already read the Book of Mormon 3 times as well as the D&C and is now studying some of Moses and Abraham. She is a powerhouse! She asked if we could study about temples next time, so that is what we will do! Also… amazing miracle… I found Flora again (my recent convert from Africa who I taught in Norman)! She is living and going to school here in Stillwater! The OSU sisters said that she’s in their ward, so I get to see her tonight on exchanges! I am stoked! I lost contact with her when she moved, so I was worried, but now it’s a miracle!

We also received training from Elder Foster of the Seventy here yesterday. It was soooooo good; probably one of the best trainings I’ve ever had. You think that when a general authority comes they are going to rebuke all the missionaries and whoop them into shape, but most of all the talks by him, his wife and the Walkenhorsts were about Heavenly Father’s love. President Walkenhorst talked about our desires and how we need to be focused on goals and aligning our will to the Father’s. Sister Walkenhorst talked about God’s perspective. She said, “Sometimes we just need an old fashioned pep talk so here it is: ‘you are doing alright, everything will work out!'” Then Sister Foster talked about having hard days and how we all have them. She talked about how we can do hard things, but not without Heavenly Father. Elder Foster first talked about member missionary work. The Stillwater and OKC Stake Presidents were there and so he talked about how we need to have better communication with each other and work together better. He also talked about how we have 1 chance to serve a mission like this…1 chance to ponder for eternity. He said, “It’s a privilege to be a missionary.” He then talked about putting things in the past and keeping them there and moving on. He reminded us of what Heavenly Father told Adam and Eve in the garden “I will provide a Savior for you.” Elder Foster continued his last training by talking about prayer. It was the most profound training on prayer I had ever heard. He stressed the importance of knowing that God knows our name. Moses 1 really stresses this as well: “And I have a work for thee, Moses, my son [Mackenzie, my daughter]; and thou art in the similitude of mine Only Begotten; and mine Only Begotten is and shall be the Savior, for he is full of grace and truth; but there is no God beside me, and all things are present with me, for I know them all.” Also in D&C 124:20: “And again, verily I say unto you, my servant George Miller is without guile; he may be trusted because of the integrity of his heart; and for the love which he has to my testimony I, the Lord, love him.” Another example that He knows our name AND our heart. Another scripture he shared was in 2 Corinthians 12:7-10:  “And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh (trial or weakness), the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure.For this thing I besought the Lord thrice [not just once, but 3 times!], that it might depart from me. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” 

Ahhh…there is so much more I could share, but it’ll have to be in person someday. So much to share, so little time. I also got a blessing on Sunday from the Elders which was really inspired and really helped me. I am truly grateful for my mission. I love it. It’s been a crazy week, but they all are! Also, thank you to all who have e-mailed me. It is SO uplifting, and I feel so loved every Monday when I get on my e-mail to hear all the updates on life and such! Y’all are an inspiration.

I love y’all tons! Keep uplifting all those around you!

Love,

Sis Kenz

P.S.

The picture is of the Stillwater Zone with Elder Foster!

My new address is:

905 Dryden Cir. 

Stillwater, OK 74075

Send things directly here because it takes a long time to get things from the mission office!

#ilovemail

Leave a Reply

