Top of the Mountains

SEPTEMBER 15, 2014

Family and Friends,

This week was pretty nuts! Very, very busy….which is always good 🙂

Carla is doing fabulous! She is getting ready for her baptism on the 27th and is so excited! We watched “Mountain of the Lord” with her and talked about temples. She loves the temple and is SO excited to go there after her baptism. She is so sincere and honest with us. Phil, her husband who is a member, is getting more and more excited as well and opening up to us. It’s cool to see the change. Apparently, a year ago Carla was not very interested in the Gospel, but her heart has been softened and she decided it was time for her to be baptized! I feel so blessed to be a part of these miracles!

Larry, another investigator, came to the church where we took him on a church tour. He really funny. He is black, from the South, loves cooking and works at Buffalo Wild Wings. He is pretty sincere but still has a lot of Word of Wisdom issues to overcome.

Another investigator named LeRoy is overcoming Word of Wisdom issues, too! We have a lot of that here. He’s funny and very Okie!

I haven’t met a lot of people still, but I already love serving in Stillwater! It’s been a blast! Stake Conference was this weekend and was themed “Hastening The Work of Salvation”…the Saturday evening session was mainly about missionary work, and Sunday focused on the temple . It was really inspiring! I made a deeper commitment to be diligent about my temple attendance after my mission as well as to do my own part in hastening the work of salvation.

I pondered this week about the temple since it was quite the theme of the week. I’m SO grateful for temples and how they bless us. I like this quote by President Boyd K. Packer: “When members of the Church are troubled or when crucial decisions weigh heavily upon their minds, it is a common thing for them to go to the temple. It is a good place to take our cares. In the temple we can receive spiritual perspective. There, during the time of the temple service, we are ‘out of the world. Sometimes our minds are so beset with problems, and there are so many things clamoring for attention at once that we just cannot think clearly and see clearly. At the temple the dust of distraction seems to settle out, the fog and the haze seem to lift, and we can ‘see’ things that we were not able to see before and find a way through our troubles that we had not previously known. The Lord will bless us as we attend to the sacred ordinance work of the temples. Blessings there will not be limited to our temple service. We will be blessed in all of our affairs.” (“The Holy Temple,” Ensign, Feb. 1995)

I have felt this in my life. Every time I have been able to attend the temple here on my mission, I usually have something that is weighing heavily on my mind. I have a greater eternal perspective there, which is something that only the Spirit of the Lord can bring while in the temple. I know it allows us to re-enter the world with a better mindset, more committed to the Gospel and to being obedient. I know when we attend as often as we can, we will be blessed with this. Just as Isaiah 2:2 says, “And it shall come to pass in the last days, that the mountain of the Lord’s house shall be established in the top of the mountains, and shall be exalted above the hills; and all nations shall flow unto it.”

I love the Gospel so much! I love being a missionary! When in a lesson yesterday, I was thinking about how grateful I am for this unique experience.

Love y’all a ton!

Sister Kenz

Leave a Reply

